May 26, 2024

BSS, DHAKA: A total of 2,713 candidates have filed nomination papers against 300 parliamentary seats across the country to contest the 12th parliamentary elections slated for January 7, 2024.

All candidates submitted their nomination papers till Thursday, the last date for submission of nomination papers, said Election Commission (EC) Secretariat Director (Public Relations) Md Shariful Alam today.

Among them, 1,966 candidates of 32 registered-political parties of EC have submitted their nomination papers to contest the general elections.

A total of 747 independent candidates filed their nomination papers across the country.

A total of 303 Awami League (AL)-backed candidates filed their nomination papers with party symbol ‘Boat’ while Jatiya Party-backed 304 candidates submitted their papers with party symbol ‘Plough (Langol)’.

A total of 218 of Zaker Party (Golapful) candidates submitted their nomination papers while Trinomool BNP (Sonali Ash)’s 151 candidates, National People’s Party(NPP) (Aam)’s 142 candidates, Bangladesh Congress (Dab)’s 116 candidates, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal Jasad (Moshal)’s 91 candidates, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation (Fuler Mala)’s 47 candidates, Bangladesh Khilafat Andolon (Bot Gach)’s 13 candidates and Bangladesh Kallyan Party (Hat Ghori)’s 18 candidates filed nomination papers for competing in polls.

Islami Front Bangladesh (Chair)’s 39 people, Bangladesh Jatiya Party (Kathal)’s 13 people, Gono Front (Fish)’s 25 people, Gono Forum (Udiyoman Surjo)’s nine people, Islami Oikyajote (Minar)’s 45 people, Bangladesh Islamic Front (Mom Bati)’s 37 people, Jatiya Party-JP (Bicycle)’s 20 people, Krishak Sramik Janata League (Gamcha)’s 34 people, Gonotanri Party (Kobutor)’s 12 people, Bangladesh Workers Party (Haturi)’s 33 people, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh (Kula)’s 14 people, Bangladesh Supreme Party (Ektara)’s 82 people, Bangladesh Jatiyotabadi Andolon-BNM (Anchor)’s 49 people, Bangladesh Nationalist Front-BNF (Television)’s 55 people and Bangladesh Sangskritik Muktijote (Chori)’s 74 people submitted nomination papers.

Bangladesh Muslim League-BML (Hat Panja)’s five persons, Bangladesh National Awami Party-NAP (Kurey Ghor)’s six, Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal (Moi)’s one, Bangladesh Khilafat Majlis (Rickshaw)’s one, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Bangladesh (Khejur Gach)’s one and Bangladesh Muslim League (Hurricane)’s two persons filed nomination papers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *