May 27, 2024

BSS, DHAKA: Bangladesh Awami League clinched a landslide victory with over two-thirds majority in the 12th general elections amid festivity giving the AL-led 14-party alliance yet another chance to form the government for the fourth consecutive terms.

The massive victory has paved the way for Awami League President Sheikh Hasina to lead the government as Prime Minister for the fifth times and fourth times in a row.

The election commission so far announced unofficially the results of 298 parliamentary seats out of the 300 where election was held in a free and fair manner.

According to the unofficial result the AL bagged 222 seats alone while Jatiya Party secured 11 seats. Independent candidates secured second highest 62 seats and JSD, Bangladesh Kalyan Party and Bangladesh Workers’ Party got one seat each.

Voting in Naogaon-2 constituency was postponed due to death of an independent candidate earlier. EC will announce the result of Mymensingh-3 constituency later as the polling on one centre was suspended.

Golam Mohammad Quader Jatiya Party secured 11 seats with “plough” symbol and independent candidates got 62 seats.

The Awami League-led alliance has swept the polls as the Election Commission officials said a large number of voters exercised their franchise to elect the country’s 12th parliament.

Foreign observers and independent polls monitoring groups said the election was held in a free, fair and peaceful manner, maintaining the world standard.

Sheikh Hasina is looking forward to run the country for the 4th consecutive terms banking on her dynamic leadership and global image.

Earlier, braving the chilly weather polling went on peacefully across the country as nearly several lakh law enforcement personnel kept a sharp vigil on the situation. However, according to reports coming from different parts of the country, sporadic incidents of clashes among rival activists left an AL activist dead and injured many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *