July 20, 2024

Staff Correspondent: BNP and other like-minded opposition parties, alliances and organisations are set to hold rallies in Dhaka and other divisional cities and district towns on Wednesday as part of the simultaneous movement to oust the current government.
The organisers said the programme is meant for registering a protest against the introduction of one-party Baksal rule by Awami League on this day in 1975, rise in the prices of power and gas and mounting pressure on the government to accept their 10-point demand, including holding the next polls under a non-party caretaker government.
As part of the programme, BNP will arrange a rally in front of its Nayapaltan central office in Dhaka. The rally that is scheduled to begin at 2pm will be addressed by party Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and other senior leaders.
Mirza Fakhrul is also likely to announce a countrywide rally and demonstration programme for February 4 as the next course of action of their simultaneous movement from the rally.
It will be the fourth programme of the simultaneous movement after the mass procession in December 30, sit in January 11 and rally and procession on January 16.
Apart from BNP, Ganatantra Mancha will hold the programme in front of the Jatiya Press Club at 11:30am while the 12-Party Alliance near Bijoy Nagar Water Tank at 3pm, Jatiyatabadi Samamona Jote in front of the Jatiya Press at 3pm, LDP at FDC Crossing at 2pm, and Ganatantrik Bam Oikya in front of the Jatiya Press Club at 11am.
Though Bangladesh Jamaat Islami joined the mass procession programme with BNP and other parties on December 30, the Islamist party has not been joining the subsequent programmes of the simultaneous movement due to reported misunderstanding with BNP over some political issues.
Jamaat sources said the party is unhappy with BNP as it did not issue any statement over the arrest of the Ameer of the Islamist party and the police attack on the party leaders and activists in the capital on December 30 while observing the mass procession programme.
BNP senior leaders will take part in the rally programme on Wednesday in different divisions.
As per the plan of BNP, party standing committee members Gayeshwar Chandra Roy will lead the programme in Barishal Division while Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury in Chattogram, Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku in Rajshahi, vice chairmen Barkat Ullah Bulu in Gazipur, M Shahjahn in Cumilla, AZM Zahid Hossain in Sylhet, Shamsuzzaman Dudu in Mymensingh, Advocate Ahmad Azam Khan in Rangpur, Netai Roy Chowdhury in Khulna, joint secretaries general Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal in Rangpur and Habibun Nabi Sohel in Faridpur.
In a press release, BNP Secretray General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir urged the country’s people and the leaders and activists of BNP to make the programme a success with their spontaneous participation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *