May 26, 2024

Moon Desk: China has unveiled a fourth list comprising 30 new names for various locations in Arunachal Pradesh, as part of its continued efforts to assert its territorial claims over the Indian state.This move comes amidst heightened tensions between the two countries over the contentious border issue.
The Chinese Ministry of Civil Affairs released the latest list of standardized geographical names in Zangnan, the Chinese term for Arunachal Pradesh, which Beijing regards as part of south Tibet. The release of these new names underscores China’s persistent stance on the disputed region.
India has consistently maintaining that the state is an integral part of the country and that any alteration of names does not alter this fact.
According to a report by the state-run Global Times, the new list of names was posted on the official website of the Chinese Civil Affairs Ministry. These names are set to be implemented from May 1, with stringent measures in place to prevent the use of foreign languages that may undermine China’s territorial claims and sovereignty rights.
This latest development follows previous releases of standardized names for Arunachal Pradesh, with the first list of six names issued in 2017, followed by subsequent lists in 2021 and 2023, comprising 15 and 11 names, respectively.
Tensions between China and India over Arunachal Pradesh escalated recently after Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the Sela Tunnel, situated at an altitude of 13,000 feet in the region, aimed at enhancing all-weather connectivity to strategically significant areas like Tawang.
In response to China’s repeated assertions over Arunachal Pradesh, Indian External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar dismissed China’s claims as “ludicrous,” emphasizing that the state is an integral part of India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *