May 27, 2024

SANGSAD BHABAN, Jan 30, 2024 (BSS) – Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury, member of Parliament (MP) from Rangpur-6 (Pirganj) constituency of the 12th Jatiya Sangsad (JS), was elected today as Speaker of the Jatiya Sangsad unanimously for the fourth consecutive term.

The first sitting of the 12th Jatiya Sangsad began with Deputy
Speaker Shamsul Huq Tuku in the chair and announced for Speaker election in the House.

Later, the newly-elected Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury took oath at the President’s chamber of the Jatiya Sangsad. President Mohammed Shahabuddin administered the oath.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina was present at the ceremony.

Wife of the President Dr Rebeka Sultana was also present during the oath-taking ceremony, among others.

Treasury bench lawmaker Obaidul Quader moved the motion for the election of the speaker while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury supported it.

After elected as the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and the Chief Whip congratulated Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *