February 29, 2024

Moon Desk : A proposal to form two new divisions named Padma and Meghna was postponed at the meeting of National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR) on Sunday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

Law, Justice and parliamentary Affairs Minister Anisul Huq said the decision to form two new divisions has been postponed due to the government’s cost-cutting policy. NICAR didn’t approve the proposal.

Earlier last year, the premier said she wants to upgrade Faridpur and Cumilla as two new divisions named Padma and Meghna.

The Prime Minister on October 21 said this while opening the newly-constructed office building for Awami League’s Cumilla city unit virtually from her official residence Gono Bhaban.

Currently, there are eight divisions in the country. These are Dhaka, Chattogram, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barishal, Sylhet, Rangpur and Mymensingh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *