February 22, 2024

Moon Desk: Voting in Rangpur City Corporation (RCC) elections began at 8:30am on Tuesday at t 229 polling centres using electronic voting machines (EVMs).

It is scheduled to continue till 4:30pm.

A total of 4,26,470 voters, 2,14,166 are female and 2,12,303 are male, are expected to cast vote.

This is the third election since the city corporation was formed in 2012.

Nine candidates are vying for the mayoral post, while 183 candidates for councilor posts under 33 wards and 68 are contesting for 11 reserved seats.

The mayoral candidates are: Amiruzzaman from Islami Andolon Bangladesh, Abu Raihan from Bangladesh Congress, Touhidur Rahman Mandal from Khelafat Majlish, Mostafizur Rahman from Jatiya Party, Shafier Rahman from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia from Awami League, Khorshed Alam from Zaker Party, Mehedi Hasan and Latifur Rahman as independent candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *